Chithranna

Firstly, for the uninitiated, chithranna means lemon rice, but in colloquial usage, it means an assortment of things.

I am now in the US of A.  I left Indian shores on the 8th of this month by a firang airline (my mom absolutely wouldn’t let me book Air India even though it was a good 12k cheaper!).  Anyway, I assumed that I’d atleast get to fly in some style.  The German airline for the first leg of my journey didn’t have room for my legs.  (For those of you who understand, it was even worse than Durgamba/Ideal).  My food consisted of a poor attempt at making upma!  EEEEEYUCH!  I slept through most of the first leg, somehow.

Frankfurt airport is HUGE.  While  waiting for my connecting flight, I managed to lose 5 dollars in a phone card vending machine and anger an airport authority for the simple reason that I was trying to go to a different terminal.  Hell! I was just trying to see off a friend who had a different connection!  As, Obelix would have put it, These Germans are crazy!

The next leg was on an American flight.  I used to sometimes wonder why Americans prefer to call inflight helpers as flight attendants instead of airhostesses.  I had thought that it was because of perceived sexist connotations.  But no people!  It is because most of these flight attendants are males!  I had to live with the sight of a 40 something balding man smiling at me while handing out my meals…  That wasn’t all – the AC had a leak, the wiring for my reading light was screwed, the vegetarian meal consisted of just some vegetables and worst of all, the toilet door came off!  WOW!

Once I reached the US of A, I heard junta who had travelled by Air India had nice food and had a TV screen all to themselves even in economy…  Yeah, I did tear my hair. 🙂

Over the last one week, I’ve been in the process of settling down in my new place.  One of the first things that struck me was how cordial people are here.  I mean, imagine a bus driver smile and wish you good morning in India!  I had also been on a trip to Washington DC.  The White House is kutty, tiny, exceedingly small and anything but majestic.  Honestly people, Vidhana Soudha ki jai!

A lot of other things have happened over the past week.  New people, new place, tons of forms to fill out, tons of things to sign up for etc., etc.  Basically its been chithranna.  Which also reminds me btw:

I made Chithranna! 🙂

PS:  My mom was later vindicated because some AI flyers missed their connection! Hmm…

8 Comments

  1. Malaveeka said,

    August 19, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Yay. You’ve reached. And started cooking and all.

    I travelled to US non-stop by Delta Airlines when the Flight Attendants made audible rascist comments.

    The chitranna looks yummy. the chillies are prolly not all that spicy, are they? And where’s the tadka?

  2. Mom said,

    August 19, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    No probs. Come back in whichever airlines you like (hopefully with full baggage in possession). I think you know if you want me to come to US of A which airlines to book and which class 🙂

  3. ansvad said,

    August 19, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    @ Mal: Thanks! Yup, the chillies aren’t at all spicy. Didn’t have the things to make the tadka… 🙂
    @ Mom: Business class in Air France next year! 🙂

  4. Mithrandir said,

    August 20, 2008 at 1:50 am

    Couldn’t complain about Emirates. Especially since we flew for the most part on the A380 🙂 . But the guy next to me was an obese dude who spilled into my seat. I guess you win some, you lose some.

  5. gss said,

    August 20, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    My 1st leg flight had a personal TV.. 😛 n Mr. VADA.. never ever recommend air france.. transit at paris airport is a screwed up business.. 🙂

  6. Vikram said,

    August 20, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Nice post! India rocks, and anything Indian rocks — we understand that fact better once we leave this country.

    BTW, I’ll be happy if I can prepare Chitranna half as delicious as yours!

  7. Thin Anarch said,

    August 23, 2008 at 3:47 am

    Good to hear about your cooking attempts. But from here, it looks like the total weight of chillies used > total weight of rice used. Keeping the Ans Bhai chilli tradition up. May be you can get someone to courier your monthly gunny sack of chillies from here(India).
    Secondly, do they sell masala maize and pop corn near the white house?

  8. wanderlust said,

    September 20, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    masala maize… hmm… another indian cornershop idea…. B-Plan, anyone?


Leave a Reply

