Condi

Yes! That’s what I am going to be. I have seen/heard some “amazing” things in the last week and couldn’t help being condi… (condi = condescending)

First, this photo:

Yup! I am talking about the “pepes” 🙂 This actually set me thinking about all the places I had seen words spelled wrongly – spelled just as people mispronounce it phonetically. The funniest ones are in hotel menus. Gobi Manchurian is invariably slandered. The one which takes the worst hiding is the word “Chinese”. Although, the one that I remember most fondly is Malai Gupta!!! 🙂

Onto item number 2. This time it is something that I heard on the news channel Samay. Incidentally, I had been forced into watching all inane free-to-air channels for the whole week thanks to the cable operator’s policy. This happened in the aftermath of the Jaipur blasts. This young, upcoming channel tried to do a professional take on the blasts and had a really enthusiastic guy in the studio interacting with a reporter at Jaipur. A few usual questions were shot and equally usual replies were made, until one question caught my fancy. The studio guy asks the reporter “kaisi awaaz aayi?“…

Now this is what the reporter could have said:

1) Roll back the years and do a totally child-like rendition of “BOOOOOM!”

2) Launch into fits of explosive laughter at the utterly dumb question and hope that the studio guy will get an idea.

3) What the hell! Have a proper go at the studio guy. A novel way to increase the TRP ratings.

Just when I was recovering from the stomach cramps that I had developed, the studio guy shoots another question: “kitni awaaz aayi?” 😀

OK. And now for the grand finale! Creme de la creme. The icing on the cake. A photo again:

I saw this priceless board on the way to Almora. I did not stay at this place btw… Please gimme your comments ppl! 😀

12 Comments

  1. wanderlust said,

    May 16, 2008 at 5:14 am

    there’s this blog that chronicles such stuff:
    http://kauntext.bogspot.com

    that apart, i’d been to madurai, and came across a lontry where clothes are washed and pressed.
    there are also restaurants that serve priyaani and baroda, apart from cafi, tee and limco.
    at murudeshwar, i found idial icecream.

  2. wanderlust said,

    May 16, 2008 at 5:18 am

    that should be http://kauntext.blogspot.com

  3. May 16, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Heh! Some more:

    Sauce > Sos
    Sandwich > Sonvic
    Burger > Bugger

    Also, I’ve seen Chee Is Dosa (Cheese 😦 ) and there’s always the Gun Powder available in AP. (paruppu podi actually)

  4. svn said,

    May 16, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    The SNP aka N (Neha) FC aka N (NITK) FC has a creative menu card too.
    I have a pic of it.
    The best I think I ever saw was in class 2. My limited vocab prevented me from deciphering the following writing on a wall:
    Chi: ni: z
    Quiz: in
    Cuisine soon entered my repertoire when I finally figured it out.

  5. wanderlust said,

    May 17, 2008 at 5:39 am

    @svn:
    how about ‘fasion’? 😉

  6. svn said,

    May 18, 2008 at 9:40 am

    of course, and fasion, the DDFC kind 🙂

  7. vishfulwords said,

    May 18, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    I have got these two wonderful lines outside a bicycle service shop in my neighbourhood

    1) Tire Puncher done here

    2) (You may not believe this one, but I see it everyday) Blow Job done here

    Now, beat that for wonderful lines! Believe me, if I had a digi-cam, the first thing that I would probably take a shot of is that awesome board!

    There’s also this one I have seen near the Mangalore railway station,

    Prepare to get Humped

    A guy in our hostel actually has that as his wallpaper! So, perhaps I can flick that pic just for kicks! After all, it really is one hell of a humping laugh!!! 🙂

  8. wanderlust said,

    May 20, 2008 at 6:17 am

    then there’s the very famous child bear aka chilled beer.
    how about smriti testimonials?
    one thing i’ve noticed is, people shorten the word testimonial. and then add an s in way of referring to more than one testimonial.
    i’ve seen one admiring the cleaverness of this girl, and saying it is an awesome experience (or equivalent) to meat her. and another praising the speaking skills of yet another girl by comparing her with a high court layer.

  9. Aneesh said,

    May 20, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Thanks for all the additions ppl! 😀
    @vishwas: haven’t laughed that hard in quite sometime man… thanks!
    @priya: smriti was amazing fun wasn’t it? 😛
    @nair: there’s a variation of chinese that i haven’t seen now! and HOW much we’ve discussed ‘fasion’ man! 😀

  10. Arun said,

    May 26, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    How about this –
    on the back of an auto rickshaw
    “For Hair”

  11. Arun said,

    May 26, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    And yea, how much fun we had laughing our guts out in maloo’s room..smriti ‘testis’ were hilarious [;)]

  12. Abacus said,

    June 19, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Abacus!!!


Leave a Reply

