Night in the loft

An influx of guests to my house meant that there was a shortage of rooms in which to sleep in.  I had an idea.  Why don’t I sleep in the loft?  I would have the room to myself (which I like…)  and it could be fun!  Ignoring my mother’s disapproving face, I ran upstairs to get it cleaned for the night.

A barrage of memories came flooding back when I entered the room, after many years.  This was the place where I had spent many hours, no, days in my childhood.  The plethora of things that were dumped there was something of a fantasy to me – it quenched my boyish adventurous spirit.  I could do what I wanted there, dirty it as much as I wanted to.  Noone bothered about a room under the roof – it was just a store room to the elders.  I remembered the day when I and my cousins had built our own little “house” out of cardboard boxes, the day when I had made my own little pulley to transport small things from the attic to the floor and the day when I had brought many wooden planks crashing down…  Those were the days!

Anyway, for the present, I started by sweeping the years of dust away.  I was chased upstairs at an early time, not being able to watch TV or use my comp.  Nick Hornby and 11 radio stations gave me company for a couple of hours.  There was a phone call as well – my mom from downstairs asking if everything was fine! 😀

The whole thing was an interesting experience, except for one thing though – lofts can get bloody cold at night!

2 Comments

  1. Tharkun said,

    July 2, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    Lofty Ideals eh?

    I hope you’re hitting your head against something.

  2. ansvad said,

    July 2, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    ONLY i can make you hit your head against something… not au contraire… 🙂


Leave a Reply

