Patting my back…

An email from the KQA – ‘Open quiz on Sunday, the 20th of May at Daly Memorial Hall, teams of 2.’

Now, an OQ by KQA is one that is generally not missed by anyone who is half serious about quizzing. With me fitting into that category, all that I needed was a teammate. My regular one was busy, so I called up my old one – the one from my PU college days. He dithered about a bit and finally agreed “for old times sake”.

“For old times sake”… Now that got me thinking and delving into my memory.

Both of us had just joined PU college, and the regular quizzer that he was at school, was looking for a good teammate. I wasn’t too much into quizzing at school – just used to commit to memory some mundane trivia. But since there was noone else, I became his teammate.

Being brutally honest, he carried me through the first few quizzes until I developed to some acceptable level. But somehow, we clicked. We started off by winning the quiz conducted by the commerce department, then came the inter college quiz competition victories at our college science fest. There was also the physics quiz and the chemistry quiz in which we did well. The biggest one was when we were placed 4th among 800+ teams in the Hindu Young World Quiz. (One of the prizes for which, amongst a host of other things, was a year’s supply of Maggi noodles! 😉 )

We came off the pace a lot in II PU partly because of bad luck and partly because quizzing itself was put on the back burner and studies took centerstage. We parted ways at the end of the year, with both of us going to different professional colleges. Both of us have evolved a hell lot after that and it was great teaming up again today.

The actual quizzes that we went for today didn’t yield glorious victories, but then again, it was a KQA quiz attended by the best in Bangalore. We did manage to qualify for the final in one of the quizzes, but that was all…

7 Comments

  1. Malaveeka said,

    May 21, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    Peacock!

    Nerdy one at that.

  2. Mithrandir said,

    May 21, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    ” so I called up my old one – the one from my PU college days”

    Thu waste fellow, you make me sound like I’m your ex or something.

  3. AnSVad said,

    May 21, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    i’ve quite clearly said “teammate” in the previous line… i’ve abstained from using “partner”… 🙂

  4. Malaveeka said,

    May 24, 2007 at 4:55 am

    I moved.

    WordPress.

    check old blog.

  5. wanderlust said,

    May 24, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    one thing i’ve never understood is “one year’s free supply”, having never won any such thing. what, do you have to call each time you want maggi noodles and it shalt be delivered?
    mehopes they don’t pre-estimate the amount you might be using in a year and dump it all at once on you…
    yours joblessly [as is obvious from this comment],
    priya

  6. AnSVad said,

    May 24, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    They did pre-estimate… Had to carry back a huuge carton as the prize.

  7. Malaveeka said,

    May 25, 2007 at 3:45 am

    Wow Priya.
    I never thought of it ever.

    Wonderful

    I learnt something today.


Leave a Reply

